My College Essay

Question 2: Share with us what you are most passionate about and what the impact of this has had on your life

                            “Feel Good Music” 

Last night I fell asleep listening to music. This morning I woke up listening to music. Floating in musical bliss for the better half of my life, it is no surprise that I intend to do the same thing tomorrow, the day after and for many years to come. I live for music. Every pivotal moment of my life can be scored with a song. Every inexplicable feeling can be found in the underlying beat of some song from some genre: contemporary or oldies. Most persons would find it odd to search indefatigably until they find the song they heard in a movie or a commercial- but humans are known to go to great lengths for the things they love. I am no exception. Music, like all the things I love; food, movies, literature, language and people, is timeless. How does a song written in the early 1600s completely encompass the moments I experience centuries later?

Ironically, sadly and let‟s not forget, pathetically, I cannot sing or even hum well. I cannot dance well. I cannot play an instrument even if my life depended on it; unless of course you consider school desktops as instruments.

However, I sing and dance every day, much to my physical detriment and the chagrin of friends. Once, a few years ago, a new dance was released- the reject. Everybody loved it, moving their feet expertly but try as I might I could not master it. I watched the tutorials on the internet, asked friends to teach me- but to no avail. Reluctant to give up, I took up the challenge at home. Two minutes in, I felt a sharp pain in my big toe. It was broken.

Sporting my broken toe in sandals for weeks had taught me to take my epic dance moves down a notch. My friends, unlike my toe, were not spared my spontaneous, flailing arms, uncoordinated and off rhythm movements or poor attempts at singing. B sharp? No problem. Allow me to match it with a G flat.

And then there was the problem of my playlists. With odd names such as ‘bathroom songs’, 'songs I fall asleep to’ and my personal favourite ‘feel good music’, my playlists include songs from every genre, and span from today to at least a century ago. However, having garnered several friends, with different personalities and tastes, I’ve received my fair share of questioning looks that screamed “what on earth do you listen to?” and have rendered a few of my own.

Music is not just my living, breathing passion. It is a part of me and much more. Music has taught me that being passionate about something should not include intolerance or insularity. Whether soul, rock, gospel, reggae or pop, music is a means of self-expression and showcasing different personalities and ideas. Music has taught me about perspective, individuality and acceptance. Music has taught me that I won‟t always agree. I don‟t need to. Music, like people, is diverse and diversity engenders interest.

 
16
Kudos
 
16
Kudos

Now read this

The problem

The problem isn’t you. The problem isn’t even him. The problem isn’t your expectations. It’s not even the way he’s always distant even when he’s so close your skin and breathing- and heartbeat become one. The problem isn’t that this... Continue →