Kaleidoscopes

You gave me kaleidoscopes
Kaleidoscopes of butterflies
Butterflies in the pits of my stomach
Dancing and cartwheeling on the tips and middles of my feelings
Awakening other butterflies
The ones I thought were dead after the last time

You gave me kaleidoscopes
Kaleidoscopes of feelings
Feelings from giddy to giddy to goofy.
Goofy to somber to sad then right back to happy
Happy you awaken my kaleidoscope of butterflies.

You gave me kaleidoscopes
Kaleidoscopes of butterflies who know what to say
but say everything
Everything but what’s important

You gave me kaleidoscopes
Kaleidoscopes of images.
Images of me happier than I’ve been in a long time
Images of sunshine and rainbows and spilled red wine
Images

Truth is
you gave me kaleidoscopes
Kaleidoscopes of butterflies fluttering
But they fluttered because they were trapped
Kaleidoscopes of dead butterflies
Butterflies that clogged my throat ‘till I couldn’t breathe

Keep the kaleidoscopes
I don’t want them anymore

 
8
Kudos
 
8
Kudos

Now read this

Mr. Perfect

Every girl has an idea of Mr. Perfect. I can’t really say where it came from, but it is very real. Maybe it’s a result of all those awesome Disney movies we’ve all watched and memorized as little girls or maybe it’s innate. Perhaps all... Continue →